International Workshops on First-Order Theorem Proving (FTP)


The series of FTP workshops is intended to focus effort on First-Order Theorem Proving as a core theme of Automated Deduction, and to provide a forum for presentation of very recent work and discussion of research in progress. The workshops welcome original contributions on theorem proving in first-order classical, many-valued, and modal logics, including resolution, equational reasoning, term rewriting, model construction, constraint reasoning, unification, propositional logic, specialized decision procedures; strategies and complexity of theorem proving procedures; and applications of first-order theorem provers to problems in verification, artificial intelligence, and mathematics.

Past workshops

Future workshops

  • To be announced

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is responsible for choosing location, local arrangement and program chairs for each workshop, as well as for making general decisions concerning the future of the workshop series. The committee consists of twelve persons, each serving for three terms (=three successive workshops). Around the time of each workshop four members of the committee step down, and the vacant positions are filled by holding elections among the FTP community. The FTP community consists of all people having participated in any FTP workshop, of all current and former members of the steering committee, and of all members of the current or former program committees.

Ullrich Hustadt, University of Liverpool, UK (elected June 2006)

Alessandro Armando, Università di Genova, Italy (elected Oct.2001)
Ingo Dahn, Universität Koblenz-Landau, Germany (elected Oct.2001)
Ullrich Hustadt, University of Liverpool, UK (elected Nov.2005)
Paliath Narendran, University at Albany - SUNY, Albany, New York, USA (elected Oct.2001)
Nicolas Peltier, CNRS, France (elected Nov.2003)
Silvio Ranise, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy (elected Nov.2005)
Stephan Schulz, RISC-Linz, Austria (elected Nov.2003)
Gernot Stenz, Technische Universität München, Germany (elected Nov.2005)
Cesare Tinelli, University of Iowa, USA (elected Nov.2003)
Luca Viganò, Università di Verona, Italy (elected Nov.2003)
Laurent Vigneron, LORIA - University Nancy 2, France (elected Nov.2003)

Former Members:
Peter Baumgartner, NICTA, Canberra, Australia (Oct.2000-Nov.2005, president 2003-2005)
Maria Paola Bonacina, University of Verona (FTP 1997-Nov.2003, president 1999-2003)
Ricardo Caferra, LEIBNIZ-IMAG, Grenoble, France (Jan.1999-Nov.2003)
Domenico Cantone, Universitá di Catania, Italy (Jan.1999-Nov.2003)
David Crocker, Escher Technologies Ltd., UK (Oct.2000-Nov.2005)
Ulrich Furbach, Universität Koblenz, Germany (FTP 1997-Oct.2000)
Bernhard Gramlich, Technische Universität Wien, Austria (Oct.2000-Nov.2005)
Reiner Hähnle, Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden (Oct.2000-Nov.2005)
Jieh Hsiang, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan (FTP 1997-Jan.1999)
Alexander Leitsch, Technische Universität Wien, Austria (Jan.1999-Nov.2003)
Christopher Lynch, Clarkson University, USA (FTP 1997-Oct.2001)
William McCune, University of New Mexico, USA (elected Nov.2005)
Xumin Nie, Oracle, USA (FTP 1997-Oct.2001)
David Plaisted, UNC at Chapel Hill, USA (FTP 1997-Oct.2000, president 1997-1999)
Michael Rusinowitch, LORIA, Nancy, France (FTP 1997-Oct.2001)
Gernot Salzer, Technische Universität Wien, Austria (FTP 1997-Oct.2000)
Camilla Schwind, Université Aix-Marseille II, France (FTP 1997-Oct.2000)
Klaus Trümper, University of Texas at Dallas, USA (FTP 1997-Jan.1999)
Christoph Weidenbach, MPI Saarbrücken, Germany (Jan.1999-Nov.2003)
Hantao Zhang, University of Iowa, USA (FTP 1997-Jan.1999)

Maintained by Ullrich Hustadt,, last updated . © 2006-2007 by Ullrich Hustadt.
Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional